2021 Annual Membership Picnic
Home of Mr. and Mrs. Randy Rhea
2425 Old Monticello Road
Thursday, October 14
5:00 – 6:45 House Tours, 7:00 Dinner and Live Music
Join us as we celebrate you, the members who make preservation possible in Thomas County! Enjoy the rare opportunity to explore one of Thomasville’s most beautiful historic homes followed by delicious drinks, seasonal cuisine, and live music under the stars on the stunning grounds of the Rollalong House.
Tickets and sponsorships start at just $100 per person and are partially tax-deductible. To purchase tickets and for details on sponsorship pricing and perks, please use the form below.
The original house at 2425 Old Monticello was designed in 1951 – 52 by Thomasville native, architect Roderick Brantley. Brantley studied architecture at Georgia Tech, worked in New York City, and returned to Thomasville to practice. The dwelling was built originally for Mary Berger who lived in the house for only a few months, stating the property was “too far out of town for a widow woman.”
In 1953, Mrs. Berger sold the house to Bill and Del Watkins while Holly Hall, located across the road from Glen Arven, was being renovated. Mr. Watkins sold the home in 1959 to his sister, Ames Watkins Kindred who renamed the house Myrtleander, after her childhood playhouse.
Having lived in Chicago for many years, Tom and Marguerite Williams retired to Thomasville in 1968 purchasing Myrtleander. Mr. Williams renamed the residence “Rollalong” as the new name matched his philosophy and Merrily Plantation was located next door. Famed Moultrie Architect W. Frank McCall, Jr. FAIA was hired for the renovation with Mr. McCall adding the grand l-shaped Hall and oak paneled Sitting Room. Most of the house’s millwork is a product of McCall and Bracey Lumber Company with the grand spiral staircase designed by Bracy Lumber draftsman Sid Harden.
Following Mrs. William’s death in 1999, the property was acquired by Tommy and Sabrina Williams who worked with the architect, Allen Shumake to create four bedrooms, four bathrooms and storage spaces on the second floor. Architect Charles Olson was later hired to renovate the first floor. Today, Rollalong is largely the vision of the Williams and Olson. The property was acquired by present owners, Randy and Marilyn Rhea in 2017.